Solar Plexus Chakra: I am

solar plexus chakra

Solar Plexus – Manipura – Third Chakra

The Solar Plexus Chakra, located between the navel and solar plexus, is the core of your personality, identity and ego. It is the energy center of your willpower. While the Sacral chakra seeks pleasure and enjoyment, the Solar Plexus chakra is all about the perception of who you are. It is the “I am” of chakras.

The gift of this chakra is sensing your personal power, being confident, responsible, and reliable. The energy of this chakra allows you to transform inertia into action and movement. It allows you to meet challenges and move forward in your life.

The main challenge for the third chakra is to use personal power in a balanced manner. This means consciously harnessing the energy of the solar plexus chakra and using the energy in a proactive and fair manner, rather then reactive, self-centered or inactive.

People with excessive third chakra energy are reactive to life circumstances, have emotional outbursts, are arrogant and are often stressed out. They are typically poor listeners, fast talkers and always put their agenda or needs first. They also tend to take matters personally, as their egos are in overdrive. They confuse busyness with self-importance.

People with blocked or deficient third chakras are passive and inactive – allowing life to pass by while doing nothing. They are typically followers who can be easily taken advantage of and are eager to please. A person with an underactive Solar Plexus chakra express “doormat” qualities, who often give their power away, feel trapped, anxious and helpless.

A strong, healthy and open Solar Plexus reflects the ability to move forward in life with confidence, grace and power. It reflects the ability to make conscious decisions and to act. A balanced Solar Plexus allows space for listening, negotiation and strategizing fairly. This balance allows one to be strong and gentle simultaneously, while enjoying the freedom and flexibility that choice offers.

Solar Plexus Chakra at a glance:

  • Sanskrit name: Manipura (jeweled city)
  • Element: Fire
  • Color: Yellow
  • Shape: Triangle (downward-pointing)
  • Petals of the lotus: Ten
  • Seed sound: Ram
  • Vowel sound: Ah
  • Rights: To act
  • Endocrine gland: Adrenals, pancreas
  • Physical association: Digestive system, liver, gall bladder
  • Psychological function: Will
  • Identity: Ego
  • Challenge: Shame
  • Planets: Sun and Mars
  • Tarot Suit: Wands

Solar Plexus Chakra Affirmations

I love and accept myself.
I stand up for myself.
I am strong and courageous.
I am worthy of love, kindness, and respect.
I choose the best for myself.
I express myself in a powerful way.
I am proud of my achievements.
I honor myself.
I choose healthy relationships.
I am authentic.
I direct my own life.
I appreciate my strengths.
I feel my own power.
I am free to choose in any situation.
I seek opportunities for personal and spiritual growth.
I am at peace with myself.

Essential Oils for the Solar Plexus

  • chamomile
  • lemon
  • ginger
  • black pepper
  • cinnamon
  • clove
  • grapefruit

Healing Exercises

Any activities that focus on core strength are excellent for the Solar Plexus Chakra, including pilates, yoga, stand up paddle boarding, Tai Chi. Specific exercises to strengthen the Solar Plexus are plank, boat pose and sit-ups.

Healing Foods

  • squash
  • sweet potatoes
  • pumpkins
  • lentils
  • yellow and orange peppers
  • lemons
  • corn
  • yellow pears
  • golden apples
  • brown rice
  • oats
  • spelt

If you would like to know more about your chakras in greater detail, while learning how to balance them and feel amazing, check out my upcoming live, online course, Shake Up Your Chakras & Get Happy! Course begins November 28.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply