Root Chakra: I am safe and grounded

root chakra

Root Chakra – Muladhara – 1st Chakra – Base Chakra

The root chakra is the first chakra and is located at the base of the spine. It is the root of your being and establishes the deepest connections with your physical body, your environment and with the earth. It is responsible for your sense of safety and security on this earthly journey. The word Muladhara breaks down into two Sanskrit words: Mula meaning “root” and Adhara, which means “support” or “base.”

Muladhara is the most instinctual of all chakras – it is your survival center. Your fight and flight response is initiated from this chakra. This is your primal, animal nature.

The energy of Muladhara allows you to harness courage, resourcefulness and the will to live during trying times. It connects you with spiritual energies of our ancestors, their challenges and their triumphs. Since the root chakra carries our ancestral memories, basically everyone experiences challenges or blockages within it.

War, famine, natural disasters, unstable childhoods and any events that threaten our basic survival, are all recorded within energies of the first chakra. These memories are imprinted in the subtle body and are passed down from generation to generation creating unconscious generational patterns.

It is our work to take responsibility for our own lives, bring to light that which is unconscious and mindfully improve old patterns and create our current circumstances the way we want them to be, instead of being held hostage to the past.

Since the root chakra is the first of the physical chakras, balancing it creates a solid foundation for opening the upper chakras. It is imperative you feel safe, grounded and that your physical needs are met before developing your spiritual senses.

Imbalances In the Root Chakra

When there is an imbalance in the root chakra, you may experience fear, feelings of lack or poverty, disconnection, anxiety and greed. Physical imbalances may manifest as lower back pain (feeling unsupported), elimination issues (holding on) and stiffness in legs, knees or feet (fear of moving forward). Hoarding and eating disorders (control) are signs of an imbalanced root chakra.

First Chakra at a Glance:

root chakra

  • Sanskrit name: Muladhara – root support
  • Element: Earth
  • Color: Red
  • Shape: Square
  • Petals of the lotus: Four
  • Seed sound: LANG
  • Vowel sound: O
  • Rights: To have
  • Endocrine gland: Adrenal cortex
  • Physical association: The skeletal structure, teeth, large intestine, kidneys, blood
  • Psychological function: Survival and self-preservation
  • Challenge: Fear
  • Plane: Physical plane
  • Planets: Saturn, Earth
  • Deity: Brahma, Dakini, Ganesha
  • Sense organ: Nose
  • Predominant sense: Smell
  • Incense: Cedar
  • Herb: Sage
  • Tarot suite: Pentacles

How to Balance Muladhara

While meditation does connect you to a higher spiritual plane, it also serves to ground you. You may not always be able to trust that the world will give you what you need to survive, but connection to your higher self and trust in a power higher than yourself will give you what you need to feel safe.

It does not matter if you call that higher power Consciousness, Mother Nature, God, or Spirit. Connection to universal energy will bring you a sense of peace and stability. The animals in the forest have no idea if and when they will find food each day, yet somehow they trust in nature to provide for them.

Root Chakra Affirmations

All of my needs are met.
I feel deeply rooted.
I am connected to my body.
I feel safe and secure.
I have a right to be here.
I stand for my values, for truth, and for justice.
I am grounded, stable, and standing on my own two feet.
I nurture my body with healthy food, clean water, exercise, relaxation, and connection with nature.
I am open to possibilities.
I am grateful for all the challenges that helped me to grow and transform.
I trust in the goodness of life.
I make choice that are healthy and good for me.
I trust myself.
I love life.

Essential Oils for the Root Chakra

Essential oils embody the frequencies and healing properties of plants. Not only they deliver certain properties to the physical body, they also work on the mental, emotional and spiritual levels. The following are the most commonly used root chakra essential oils:

  • Sandalwood
  • Cedarwood
  • Myrrh
  • Frankincense
  • Juniper
  • Vetiver
  • Cinnamon
  • Patchouli
  • Ginger
  • Cypress
  • Carrot Seed
  • Clove

Healing Exercises:

  • Walking barefoot or sitting on the ground, grass, sand, earth.
  • Practicing yoga can open up your lower spine and center you.
  • Moving meditations, such as walking, hiking will connect you to the earth, while allowing your spirit to soar.
  • Drumming, speaking or listening to chakra chants with a deep base.
  • Giving food and things away knowing there is always more.

Healing Foods:

  • Red colored foods
  • Hot spices and peppers
  • Root vegetables
  • Animal protein
  • Stews and hearty soups

If you would like to know more about your Root Chakra and the other six chakras in greater detail, while learning how to balance yours and feel amazing, check out my upcoming live, online course, Shake Up Your Chakras & Get Happy! Course begins November 28.

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply